Oregon Local Section
American Chemical Society


Bylaw changes vote, drinks, and a tour of the OSU EM facility

Posted by Sean on November 7, 2014 at 7:35 PM Comments comments (3)

We are having a vote! 

On Dec. 5th 2014 at 5:00pm at the Oregon State University Linus Pauling Science Center the Oregon section will be hosting a meeting to vote on Bylaw changes for the section.

Unlike government elections we will also provide drinks and an electron microscope demo.

We'd like to get a rough headcount so please RSVP, as soon as possible.

The Bylaw changes are being made to officially allow electronic balloting for all future local section elections.

In addition to handling these more mudane issues, we will have OSU catering provide some beer, wine, and finger foods and we have a tour of the Electron Microscope facility in the Linus Pauling Science Center planned (BIG THANKS to Peter Eschbach! the facility director).

Please show up to vote and mingle!

Remember please RSVP, but it is not mandatory to attend, just helpful.

ACS Oregon Executive Committee

Chad Mirkin receives the 2013 Linus Pauling Award

Posted by Sean on January 20, 2014 at 11:25 PM Comments comments (0)

For outstanding contributions to chemistry meriting national and international recognition, the Linus Pauling Medal is awarded for 2013 to Chad A. Mirkin, George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University.

The Pauling Award Symposium & Banquet is 1:00pm Saturday, October 5, 2013 at the University of Portland.

The reception and undergraduate research poster presentations begin at 5:30pm.

More information about the Symposium & Banquet is available here.

The Pauling Award Symposium is free and open to the public; the Pauling Award Banquet requires reservation and payment, regular ($30) and student tickets ($15) for the Banquet may be ordered with this form.

The Linus Pauling Award is sponsored by the Portland, Puget Sound, and Oregon Sections of the American Chemical Society.

NORM'13 a Huge Success!

Posted by Sean on January 20, 2014 at 11:15 PM Comments comments (0)

The 2013 Northwest Regional Meeting was officially a huge success!

Much thanks to everyone who attended and special thanks to all the speakers who helped to ensure it was an exciting and informative event.

Thanks a ton to the meeting chair, Richard Nafshun, for helping to organize the event and to all the session chairs, executive board, and student volunteers who helped it run smoothly.

NORM’13 was held July 21-24th @ Oregon State University.

Visit the official website for more information.

Robert J. Cava is given the 2012 Linus Pauling Award

Posted by Sean on January 20, 2014 at 11:10 PM Comments comments (0)

Robert J. Cava, Russell Wellman Moore Professor of Chemistry from Princeton University, has been chosen to receive the 2012 Linus Pauling Award!

You can learn more about Prof. Cava and his work here.

He will be giving a talk at the 2012 Award symposium entitled, “A Molecule in a Metal–Dimer Formation in ThCr2Si2-type Pnictides”.

The talk is on Saturday, October 6, 2012 from 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm in 389 Mary Gates Hall.

Other invited speakers include Professor Ram Seshadri, University of California–Santa Barbara, “Solid state chemistry and reactivity of noble metal oxides: Pauling electronegativities and gold chemistry”. 

Professor Mas Subramanian, Oregon State University, “Beyond the Nature of the Chemical Bond: How close are we to ‘Functional Materials by Design’?”

Professor Susan Kauzlarich, University of California–Davis, “Adding 3+ rare earths to transition metal Zintl phases and their resulting magnetic and thermoelectric properties”

The Linus Pauling Award is sponsored by the Portland, Puget Sound, and Oregon Sections of the American Chemical Society.